Library Board

The six members of the Library Board of Directors are elected by the voters in Birmingham.  Each term lasts four years.  The terms are staggered so that three positions are elected every two years in the November election.

Among other roles, Library Board members are responsible for controlling the expenditures of all funds credited to the Library, adopting an annual budget for the Library, appointing a library director and setting policies regarding the use of the Library. The Board also has the responsibility to see that adequate funding is provided and to adopt short-and long-range plans for the Library's future growth and development.

If you would like access to these titles in a more accessible format please click here to contact us.

Library Building

The Library Board and City Commission are working closely together to develop a plan for the Library building's future.  View up-to-date information on their work here.

Notice of Board Meetings

Date Time Location 
Building Committee Meeting
Monday March 30, 2015 5:00 p.m.
Donor Room 
Building Committee Meeting
Tuesday March 31, 2015
5:00 p.m.
Board Room
Policy Committee Meeting
Thursday April 9, 2015
5:30 p.m.
Board Room
Special Board Meeting
Monday April 13, 2015
5:00 p.m.
Jeanne Lloyd Room
Finance Committee Meeting
Tuesday April 14, 2015
4:30 p.m.
Board Room
Library Board and Trust Meeting
Monday April 20, 2015
7:30 p.m.
Lower Level

A full list of upcoming Library Board meetings can be found here.

Minutes and Video of previous meetings are available on the Archived Meetings page.

All meetings will be taped and broadcast on Birmingham Municipal Channel 15 (Comcast) or Channel 99 (AT&T).  View the current Bloomfield Community Television schedule here.  Bloomfield Community Television reserves the right to reschedule programs if necessary.

Front from left:
 Sheila Brice, Andrew Harris, James W. Suhay
Back from left: David Underdown, Frank Pisano, Bob Tera


Library Board Documents

 Document Title
Document/Event Date 
2015-2016 Approved Budget
2014-2015 Approved Budget
2013-2014 Approved Budget
2012-2013 Approved Budget
03-16-15 Proposed Board Minutes
03-16-15 Proposed Trust Minutes
03-16-15 Board and Trust Packet
Request for Proposals for Baldwin Public Library Server Virtualization, Backup, and Disaster Recovery Due 12:30 PM April 8, 2015
Request for Proposals for Renovation of Adult Services Section of BPL
Due 3:30 PM March 27, 2015
Addendum to Request for Proposals for Renovation of Adult Services Section of BPL
Due 3:30 PM March 27, 2015 
Baldwin Public Library Renovation and Expansion Study by Quinn Evans Architects - December 11, 2013
Due 3:30 PM March 27, 2015
 02-16-15 Approved Board Minutes February 16, 2015
 02-16-15 Approved Trust Minutes
February 16, 2015
Long-Range Planning Session Presentation January 31, 2015
Long-Range Planning Session Written Report January 15, 2015
Vision of the Future
December 15, 2014

 Board Member Information



Term expires


David Underdown President 2015
Sheila Brice Vice President
Frank Pisano Secretary 2017
Andrew Harris Board Member
James W. Suhay Board Member 2015
Bob Tera Board Member 2015


Baldwin Public Library 300 West Merrill Street Birmingham, MI 48009 Phone# 248.647.1700
Copyright © 2015 BALDWIN PUBLIC LIBRARY | Sitemap | Site by Core3 Solutions