If you'd like instructions on how to access databases from home, click here.
To find databases alphabetically, click here.
- Academic Onefile - The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
- Expanded Academic ASAP - Scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers
- OCLC FirstSearch - Fulltext articles from over 1200 periodicals in sources such as ERIC, MEDLINE, WilsonSelectPlus, etc.
- Business & Company Resource Center - Company and industry information
- Consumer Reports Online - Find product reviews and ratings from Consumer Reports.
- General Business File ASAP - Company, finance, and business research
- Insurance Institue of Michigan - Find out information and insurance for you
- Morningstar Investment Research Center - Financial and analyst reports, portfolio screening (stocks and funds).
- NetAdvantage - Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage is the world's foremost provider of industry-leading research on companies, industries, stocks, bonds, funds and the economy.
- Reference USA - Directory information for US businesses and households
- Value Line Research Center - The Value Line Research Center includes on-line access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.
- Value Line Investment Survey Reports - Browse in-depth coverage of over 1,700 equity issues. Every week, about 135 stocks in seven or eight industries are covered.
- Value Line Investment Survey Lookup - Done your research? This link will give you the quickest access to Value Line reports by ticker, company name or industry.
- Educator's Reference Complete - Searches 450 full-text education journals
- Eric - Journal articles and reports in education
- Mango Languages - This premier online software program currently offers 12 language courses - Brazilian Portuguese, Spanish, Japanese, French, German, Italian, Greek, Russian, Mandarin Chinese, ESL for Polish speakers, ESL for Spanish speakers, and ESL for Brazilian Portuguese speakers - with many more on the way. Note: To create an account in Mango Languages, you need to be a cardholder in Birmingham, Beverly Hills, or Bingham Farms.
- MORE: Michigan Online Resources for Educators - Includes both information about content expectations and vetted websites for research
- CultureGrams - 4-page reports on 175 countries and the 50 states.
- Enciclopedia Esudiantil Hallargoz - (World Book: Student Discovery Encyclopedia: Spanish) Complete Spanish language encyclopedia
- Encyclopedia Americana
- Encyclopedia Britannica
- New Book of Knowledge
- New Book of Popular Science
- World Book Online Reference Center - Integrates primary and secondary sources, websites, timeline builder, atlas and dictionary geared for high-school and college students and adults.
- World Book Discover - Uncluttered interface with text-to-speech feature and automated translations into 14 languages. Includes World Book Explains, a special video series.
- World Book Info Finder - Online searches and all articles from print encyclopedia, Biography Center, and study tools for middle and high school students.
Return to Top- Ancestry Library - Family history - (In Library Use Only)
- Heritage Quest Online - Primary source documents including family and local histories; census data
- Consumer Reports Online - Find product reviews and ratings from Consumer Reports.
- Expanded Academic - Scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers
- Gale PowerSearch - Choose from a selection of databases and search them together.
- General Reference Center Gold - Magazines, newspapers and reference books
- General OneFile - "One-stop shopping" for thousands of magazine and newspaper articles on a wide range of topics.
- Opposing Viewpoints - Pros and cons of current social issues
- Wilson Select Plus - Fulltext articles from over 1200 periodicals
- CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
- Health and Wellness Resource Center - Magazines, reference books, etc.
- Health Reference Center Academic - articles on fitness, nutrition, diseases, medicine, etc.
- Medline - National Library of Medicine database
- Merck Manual Home Edition - Research diseases and syndromes in the online version of the popular medical text written in everyday language.
- Teen Health and Wellness - (Teen Health and Wellness- Support and self-help tools for teens on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, and more.)
- Ancient and Medieval History Online - Learn all about Ancient Egypt, Greece, and Rome, as well as Medieval Europe, Asia, and the Islamic Empire
- African American History Online - Learn about African American History right up until the Present Day
- American History Online - Covers American history from the Colonial Period to the Present
- American Indian History Online - Has both native societies and history as well as contemporary issues faced by Native America populations
- American Women's History Online - See how the role of women in America has changed from the Colonial period to today
- Historical New York Times - (1851 - 2003)
- History Online from Facts on File - See six of our Facts on File History Databases
- MeL Michigana - Information on Michigan history. Photos, music, letters, diaries and more from across Michigan.
- Modern World History Online - Covers 1450 to the present both by period and by location
- Legal Trac -Articles from major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers.
- Legal Forms (Michigan) - The most popular Michigan legal forms: landlord tenant, wills, bankruptcy, and many more.
- OpenJurist.com - Free acces to published court opinions from the US Supreme Court, US Court of Appeals, and the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd series of the Federal Reports
- Booklist Online - Book reviews from the American Library Association
- Literature Resource Center - Critical essays and biographical info on authors and their works.
- LitFINDER - Over 135,000 full-text poems, stories, plays, essays and more
- Michigan Authors & Illustrators - Biographical database
- Novelist - Search for fiction books and browse lists of award winning titles
- Pearl's Picks - Pearls selection of best sellers
- What Do I Read Next - Search for fiction and non-fiction books and browse lists of award winning titles
- What's Next - Search for adult fiction series titles
- WorldCat - Library materials worldwide
- Absolute Michigan - News and links about Michigan. It includes Michigan arts, businesses, communities, events, food, real estate, travel, technology, and recreation
- Seeking Michigan - Gives access to the Library of Michigan the Archives of Michigan collections particularly of photos, audio, maps, and document. Great for learning about family histories or for engaging Michigan history with primary source documents.
- 150 Custom Newspapers - from US and abroad
- Birmingham Eccentric - Web site
- Detroit Free Press - Full text back to 1982
- Detroit News - Full text back to 1999
- Historical New York Times - (1851 - 2003)
- New York Times - Full text back to 1980
- Oakland Press - Web site
- Wall Street Journal - Full text back to 1984
- Antiques Reference - Auction sale prices for thousands of antiques and collectibles
- Archive Grid - Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
- Biography Resource Center
- ChiltonLibrary.com - The most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years.
- Consumer Reports Online - Find product reviews and ratings from Consumer Reports.
- Famous Quotes and Authors - Famous Quotes and Authors.com is a collection of useful quotations. They provide a large collection of famous quotations for all occasions! Browse over 25,000 quotes online from over 6,700 famous authors.
- Learning Express Library - Practice tests for school and career preparation
- Mango Languages - This premier online software program currently offers 12 language courses - Brazilian Portuguese, Spanish, Japanese, French, German, Italian, Greek, Russian, Mandarin Chinese, ESL for Polish speakers, ESL for Spanish speakers, and ESL for Brazilian Portuguese speakers - with many more on the way. Note: To create an account in Mango Languages, you need to be a cardholder in Birmingham, Beverly Hills, or Bingham Farms.
- OAIster - This catalog of digitized materials includes books, articles and multimedia, representing multidisciplinary resources from more than 1000 contributors worldwide.
- SIRS Researcher - Thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Perfect for term papers and reports.
- Virtual Reference Library - Dictionary of American History; Encyclopedia of Small Business; Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law; New Catholic Encyclopedia; Grzimek's Animal Encyclopedia; West's Encyclopedia of American Law; Chemistry: Foundations and Applications; Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion; Encyclopedia of Small Business; Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
- World Atlas - Find out about the US states and the countries of the world, and compare them.
- Computer Database - Comprehensive information about the computer, electronics, and telecommunications industries.
- Science Resource Center - Curriculum-oriented science database focusing on key concepts taught in school classrooms such as earth science, science history, life science, physical science, science and technology, space and much more.
- Reference USA - Directory information for US businesses and households